Weekly Workout 7/16-7/22

This week is Week 3 of Marathon Training. I am signed up for the Philly Marathon on November 18th and I am pumped! This will be my FIRST marathon. I have been following the Furman University FIRST (Run Less Run Faster) plan for the last 6 months and it works! I trained for the Long Branch Half Marathon with this plan and I PR’ed by nearly 4 minutes. The philosophy behind the plan is 3 runs a week and 2 XT sessions. Speed workouts are on Tuesdays, tempo runs on Thursdays, and long runs on the weekend. My XT for the past 3 weeks has been the Insanity workouts and those really kick my butt! This week’s plan is as follows:

Mon: Insanity Pure Cardio and Cardio abs (Done!)
Tue: Speed workout
1mi warm up, 1200m/1000m/800m/600m/400m with 200m RI, 1mi cool down
5 miles 42:57 (Done!)
Wed:Insanity Plyometrics and NTC Ab Ripper (Done!)
Thurs: 7 mile Tempo Run (5@8:41 pace)
Fri: off!
Sat: 10 mile long run (9:08 pace)
Sun: off!

I’ve been very ambitious lately and have been working out on my days off but I try to keep it easy. If anyone is looking for a great training plan that focuses on injury prevention (3 runs a week) and getting faster, I definitely recommend the Run Less Run Faster plan. You can buy the book at Barnes and Noble or any other bookstore or check out the website here.

What training plan are you using?
Do you swear by a training plan? Let me know!

This entry was posted in Weekly Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weekly Workout 7/16-7/22

  1. Melissa says:

    I’m using the FIRST plan, obviously. I am obsessive when it comes to training plans and spreadsheets so I always take WEEKS to finish it, color coded and everything. Total nerd haha.

    You’re killin the workouts so far! I love that you’re doing Insanity while marathon training, now I don’t seem as crazy doing P90X at the same time too. Can’t wait til Philly!

Leave a Comment

