Fun

Birthday Weekend

Saturday night, my roommates and I had people over for my birthday. BTW, today is my birthday! 🙂 About 20 friends came over and we watched the Olympics and hung out before heading out to the bar. I had so much fun and was grateful for all the people who showed up to celebrate my birthday.

Sunday morning was a different story. I laid in bed allllll day until I had to get up and look presentable because my parents were driving down to MD to take me out to dinner. I hydrated with NUUN and took some Advil and felt as good as new. Tim and I drove my parents to the inner harbor to walk around for a little bit before we drove to dinner.

Mom & Kevin
Tim & I

Dinner was AMAZING. It is Baltimore Restaurant Week and one of my favorite Baltimore restaurants was participating, Blue Hill Tavern. For all of you who haven’t participated in a restaurant week, it is a Prix Fixe menu with an appetizer, entree, and dessert. For appetizers ( I apologize, i forgot to take pictures of this course), my mom ordered the P.E.I mussels in a garlic butter and white wine sauce with pickled bacon, my stepdad Kevin ordered the Sweet and Spicy Corn Chili, and I ordered the Crispy Escargot Salad. Tim decided that his staple crab cakes were not on the Restaurant week menu so he decided to order a la carte.

For our entrees, my mom ordered the Sous Vide Beef Tri-Tips (cayenne and espresso crusted) with summer vegetable ratatouille and red bliss potatoes.

Kevin ordered the Stuffed Chicken Breast, stuffed with spinach, ricotta cheese, and prosciutto, and served with mashed potatoes and broccoli.

I ordered the Yellowfin Tuna and Shrimp Roulade which was ahi wrapped in a shrimp mousse served with sweet potato hash and a corn and red pepper salsa.

And Tim ordered the double crab cakes served with corn and potatoes and of course, french fries!!

And last but certainly not least, we ordered dessert (duh!). The pastry chef at this restaurant is amazing. My mom ordered the Chocolate dipped Strawberry (oreo crumb crust, strawbery pate de fruit, chocolate mousse, chocolate sauce, and fresh strawberries). Sounds amazing, right?

Kevin ordered the Brown Butter Cherry Tart (shortbread crust, morello cherries, brown butter toffee sauce and buttermilk ice cream). This was my favorite!

I ordered the Frozen Lemon Meringue Pie (frozen lemon mousse, toasted italian meringue, lemon shortbread cookie crust). It came with a candle! 🙂

Tim ordered the bread pudding. Their bread pudding is the best I have ever had. We order it every time we dine at Blue Hill Tavern. It is served with apples, caramel sauce, and ice cream.

We drove back to my house after dinner and said bye to my parents. Tim and I were definitely in a food coma after that splendid dinner. We popped in a movie (Tim’s choice: How to lose a guy in 10 days.. yes, he did choose that) and laid down until bed time. All in all, a GREAT birthday weekend. Tonight, another birthday dinner with 2 of our friends. Pictures to come tomorrow! Happy Monday and have a great week!

4 thoughts on “Birthday Weekend”

Leave a Comment

