12 Mile Long Run Recap

I called out of work today because of my horrible travel experience yesterday and knew I needed some rest and a good night’s sleep in a bed and not an airport chair. I wanted to wake up at a decent time to get out and run before the heat and humidity showed their ugly heads. I ended up getting up around 845-9 and ate some chobani apple cinnamon yogurt before I checked some emails and got ready for my run. I haven’t gone food shopping since I was away all weekend and didn’t have my usual banana or toast in the house so my roomie’s yogurt had to do. BIG MISTAKE (i think). I threw on my new Pro Compression socks that came in the mail while I was gone. Limited Edition USA socks just in time for all the Olympics Track & Field races.

GO TEAM USA!

I left the house around 1010 and went on my way. Little did I know all of the obstacles I would have to overcome today on this run. At mile 2.85, I had to stop at Shoprite because I had to go to the bathroom. Uh oh, I already knew this was going to be a longggg run.

Shoprite bathroom

This was the first time I stopped my watch. And definitely not the last. It took me forever to find the bathroom in Shoprite and I wouldn’t ask anyone because I didn’t want to be one of those people that uses the bathroom without buying anything.. so picture me skipping up and down the aisles looking for the bathroom while I was pretending to shop.

After my bathroom break, it wasn’t long before a cramp decided to creep its way in and slow me down, if not stop me every .25 miles! The cramp never went away. My assumptions for the crampy creeper is either dehydration of traveling all day yesterday and not properly hydrating, chobani (sorry!), or too much NUUN too fast. I will try to limit these next time.

At around mile 6.5, I had to stop AGAIN (and turn off my watch, obviously) and just sat on the curb as I cursed my cramp.

Not long after, at mile 7.25, I took off my shirt because I was so sweaty and uncomfortable. This was not going well.

grosss

After a few (and by a few, I mean A LOT) more rest breaks, I made it home. 12 mile long run- complete. This is what my splits looked like:

Split
Time
Distance
Avg Pace
Summary 1:54:29.3 12.00 9:33
1 8:53.6 1.00 8:54
2 9:19.6 1.00 9:19
3 9:55.5 1.00 9:55
4 8:57.5 1.00 8:57
5 9:16.6 1.00 9:16
6 9:26.4 1.00 9:26
7 9:28.1 1.00 9:28
8 9:20.5 1.00 9:20
9 10:27.6 1.00 10:27
10 9:22.8 1.00 9:22
11 10:21.0 1.00 10:20
12 9:40.4 1.00 9:40

Soooo.. this doesn’t look so bad right? 9:33 is about what my long run pace should be right now. Did I mention that I only had my watch going while I was running. Yup, I stopped it every time I went to the bathroom, stopped to curse out my cramp, or walked into subway at mile 9 and thanked the nice employee who let me grab some water even though I didn’t buy anything. I was THAT girl twice today. My total time outdoors was actually.. wait for it, wait for it.. 2 hours and 55 minutes. WHOA. Let’s average out that pace: 14:35. At that pace, I could definitely run a marathon in under 4 hours, right?

The upside: I ran all 12 miles. The downside: the Philly Marathon timing chip will not start and stop for me every time I want to take a break.

After I crawled through my door and chugged some water, I made some breakfast for lunch! 3 egg whites with 1 egg and some feta cheese, a slice of pork roll, a slice of sunflower wheat bread, and a Vega energizing smoothie in choc-a-lot mixed with 1 cup of almond milk.

Now, its time to recover a little bit, go get my poor Jeep an oil change, and buy some food!! Have a great day & Happy Monday!!

How was your long run this weekend? Hopefully more successful than mine!
Has anyone tried Vega? What flavors do you like?

This entry was posted in Marathon Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 12 Mile Long Run Recap

  1. John says:

    Good job on the 12 miles.

  2. alyssa says:

    i see you creepin in my mirror… stealing my chobani! 😉

  3. Pingback: Week 5 WW Recap | Runner Ritsa

Leave a Comment

