Eats

Veggies, Quinoa, and Tilapia Dinners

I went food shopping on Monday and spent a fortune, as per usual. I always say I am going to go pick up a few necessities but end up buying the whole store and spending over $100. How do I spend that much (a week) on just me!? Anyway, I knew I had to put all the food I bought to good use because otherwise it usually goes bad. I also wanted to eat up the rest of the produce I bought at the Bel Air Farmer’s Market last week.

Last night, Alyssa and I made fish tacos. I bought a fresh piece of tilapia and we baked it in lemon juice while we cut up avocado and tomatoes. We also toasted the wheat tortillas I bought. The finished product included tilapia, fat free feta cheese, tomatoes, spinach, avocado, and pineapple salsa. On the side we had some pasta salad with veggies (also from the Farmer’s Market) and sautéed spinach. YUM!

 

Tonight, we decided to make quinoa. While we boiled and simmered the Wegman’s red quinoa, we sautéed yellow squash, tomatoes, eggplant, portobello mushrooms and spinach in coconut oil. We also scrambled some eggs for some extra protein. We mixed it all together with some salt, pepper, lemon juice, and sprinkled some feta cheese. And then patted ourselves on the back for a job well done! Double YUM!

sautéed veggies
finished product

And then of course I needed a little something sweet tonight! Peanut Butter & Co. Dark Chocolate Dreams on whole wheat toast.

 

I have a serious sweet tooth! What do you eat to cure your sweet tooth without packing on the calories?

 

Leave a Comment

