Marathon Training

Positive Attitude

This weekend I tried to keep a positive attitude about my knee “situation.” I tried making an appointment with a sports medicine orthopedic doctor and the earliest I could get in with anyone in my area was August 21st! Well, that won’t do. I don’t want to be out for 2 weeks before I can even be diagnosed. I kept the appointment (just in case) and I tried to rest all weekend. I’ve been icing my knee twice a day and trying to keep walking around a lot to a minimum or making sure I am wearing comfy shoes. I went to the Maryland State BBQ Bash on Saturday and made sure to wear shoes that wouldn’t irritate my knee. I barely had pain on Saturday and was absolutely PAIN FREE today. I was going to try to get my long run in tomorrow morning but decided that’s not the smartest thing and I should start back up with a shorter run. Instead I am going to pretend last week didn’t happen and start back up again at Week 6 of training. It shouldn’t interfere with marathon day since I started my training plan a few weeks earlier than I needed to (maybe subconsciously for road blocks like this one!).

I was able to work out a little bit this weekend which kept me from going insane! I did a 45 min NTC workout with my roommate yesterday geared more towards building muscle than cardio to limit the jumping around and keep the pressure off my knee. Since my knee felt pain free today, I decided to add the cardio back in with a NTC INTENSE 45 min cardio workout with lots of jumping, squats, and lunges and my knee is still feeling great which is a very good sign!

Tomorrow starts my 2nd week 6 and I am going to enjoy every minute of it. Wish my knee luck!!

Now, I am going to watch the Olympics Closing Ceremony. So should you!! Good night!

2 thoughts on “Positive Attitude”

  1. It’s so nice when your workouts are pain free. I have knee and back issues and it takes a great deal of strength to not let pain get you down. Glad to hear you’re doing well. 🙂

Leave a Comment

