Eats, Marathon Training

Run Happy

My Brooks Pure Cadence arrived today! I picked them up from Charm City Run since I special ordered the teal color. I am not a big fan of the pink ones that are in stores now. They are soooo pretty!

I plan on wearing them tomorrow for my tempo run. I need to break them in before my long run. Maybe they will miraculously cure my IT band issue.

I decided to try speed work today since my IT band/knee was feeling better. I did my intervals on the treadmill for less irritation. I ended up running 6.25 miles in 55:15 (approx. 8:50 pace).

400m repeats are my favorite because the workout flies by and the repeats aren’t too long that you feel like you’re dying. I warmed up for 10 minutes at a 9:22 pace. I ran the 400m repeats at a 7:35 min pace and jogged in between the interval at a pace of 9:22-9:30. After the 6 repeats, I walked for 2:30 minutes and then repeated the circuit. I ended with a 5 min cool down at 9:22 but thats because I needed to get out of the gym. I foam rolled the hell (sorry for the profanity) out of my hips and IT band and headed home to make dinner with my roomie.

Dinner was Wegmans’ Golden Blend Couscous with sautéed veggies and a turkey burger.

Ingredients:
1 package Golden Jewel Blend Couscous
1 portobello mushroom
2 cups kale
1 tomato
2 Morningstar California Turkey Burgers
2 tbsp lemon juice
Feta cheese as needed for topping

Cook the Golden Jewel Blend Couscous according to the package instructions.

While the couscous is simmering, we sautéed a portobello mushroom, a tomato, and kale in a pan with some olive oil and lemon juice. We also grilled Morningstar California Turkey burgers in a pan and chopped those up and threw them in with the veggies. When the couscous was done, we combined all the ingredients and topped with feta cheese. All of this together equals AMAZING!

Today also had a sweet surprise. Can you guess? CUPCAKES! A friend of mine just competed in a physique body building competition and I promised him once he was done training, I would buy him cupcakes. Today I fulfilled his request by buying him a Peanut Butter Cupcake and a Hot Fudge Sundae Cupcake. I obviously could not go to the Sweet Devotion Cupcake Cafe and not buy myself one. So I decided to try the Almond Joy Cupcake. I was not disapointed!

2 thoughts on “Run Happy”

Leave a Comment

