Arms Circuit + Caprese Spaghetti Squash

My IT band was bothering me all day yesterday and I was debating whether I should work out at all. Since I had to have a cupcake at lunch (i know, surprise!), I decided to do a low impact workout. I got on the stationary bike for 30 minutes and read the rest of Divergent. GREAT book. If you liked The Hunger Games, you will also like the Divergent trilogy. After the bike, I was going to try a NTC cardio circuit but decided to give my legs a break and put together an impromptu shoulders and biceps circuit.

The circuit takes about 20 minutes and I used a range of 10 to 15 lb weights. I haven’t been strength training much lately with marathon training so I am a little weak! The bicep curls to shoulder press I performed with 10 lb. dumbbells. The lower half barbell curls I performed with a 20 lb. barbell. You can do them with either a barbell or dumbbells. The hammer curls I performed with 12.5 lb. dumbbells and the lateral raises I performed with 10 lb. dumbbells. Perform these two exercises back to back and then take a break before repeating the superset. Lastly, I did the front raises with a 10 lb. plate.

I couldn’t wait to get out of the gym and pick up ingredients for tonight’s dinner. I stopped at Safeway and picked up fresh basil, spaghetti squash, goat cheese, grape tomatoes, roasted red peppers, and balsamic glaze. Ive been cooking a lot more than usual lately and when I saw the recipe for Caprese Spaghetti Squash on Melissa’s blog (Melissa Runs), I knew I had to try it. It took a while because the spaghetti squash has to bake in the oven for almost an hour. The good thing is that you can prepare the other ingredients while the squash is cooking. The finished product both looked and tasted delicious! See for yourself…

Depending on how many people you are cooking for, this recipe can make enough servings for a few dinners. I like to eat A LOT but since there were only 2 of us eating, we had enough for dinner last night and tonight. I am counting the minutes until dinner. If you like goat cheese and spaghetti squash, you have to try this. Let me know what you think.

Do you like spaghetti squash?
How do you cook with spaghetti squash?

This entry was posted in Eats, Marathon Training, Recipes, Weekly Workouts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Arms Circuit + Caprese Spaghetti Squash

  1. Pingback: Week 9 WW Recap | Runner Ritsa

Leave a Comment

