Fun

Vacation: Palm Beach (Days 1 & 2)

Day 1
Tuesday morning we flew down to Palm Beach and were greeted by rain! We checked into our hotel, Hilton Waterfront Singer Island, and grabbed some lunch at the hotel tiki bar. We shared the Blackened Shrimp Nachos and Ketch Sliders. The sliders were topped with mango, mozzarella, and a Cajun remoulade. They were delicious! We also washed down our lunch with a very tropical Bahama Mama.

We were so exhausted that we took a nap in our comfy king size bed before I got up and headed down to the hotel gym to do my speed work. I ran 6.25 miles in 56:01 which included a 1 mile warm up and 6 x 1200m intervals at a 7:47 pace with a 2 min rest interval.

Next up, dinner at Yard House. We drove down to Downtown at The Gardens which is an outdoor mall with shops, bars, and restaurants. We decided on Yard House because the bartender at the hotel recommended it and they have around 100 beers on tap. See for yourself!

We ordered the Parmesan Truffle Fries to start along with 2 beers, of course! For dinner, I ordered the Hawaiian Poke Stack (marinated raw ahi with crispy wontons, carrots, bean sprouts, avocado, wasabi soy sauce) and one Blackened Swordfish Taco and Tim ordered the Parmesan Crusted Chicken (garlic mashed potatoes with sun-dried tomato three mushroom sauce).

After dinner I was in the mood for Key Lime Pie but Yard House didn’t have any on the menu so we walked to The Cheesecake Factory for Key Lime Cheesecake. I know it’s not the real stuff but it was damn good! Food coma #1 of the week ( and certainly not the last) forced us right into bed when we got home!

 

Day 2
Day 2 was a work day for me. My meetings were in the conference room of the hotel so I was able to run up to my room on my breaks to see Tim. Wednesday was my long day so I was in meetings from 830 until 6. Tim headed to the beach while I was in meetings! Sad face like whoa!

The view of the beach from the hotel tiki bar

When I got back to the room I showered and got ready and Tim and I headed down to City Place in West Palm Beach. City Place is kind of like Downtown at The Gardens. It’s a bunch of shops, restaurants, bars and also has a movie theater. We walked around for a little bit and then headed to City Cellar, a wine bar, for dinner and wine. Yum!

We ordered a bottle of Riesling and calamari to start. We are sweet wine drinkers. Call us amateurs if you’d like!

Next up, I ordered the scallops appetizer special and Tim ordered the Margherita Pizza.

And finally!!!! For dessert…. The Caramelized Brioche with a Blueberry Compote, Vanilla Custard, and House made Vanilla Bean Gelato. This was ONE. OF. THE. BEST. DESSERTS. I have ever had!!!

The restaurant was on the 2nd floor of the building and we sat outside so I was able to take some pretty pictures of the changing lights on the fountains right below the restaurant. And then of course some silly ones of Tim and I sitting by the fountain!

City Place was a really fun place and if we didn’t over stuff ourselves, AGAIN, we probably would have gone to a movie or had a few drinks somewhere. Of course, we headed right back to the hotel for tv in bed! But not before we rescued a stranded coconut on the drive home. The poor guy was laying right in the middle of the street.

Unfortunately we misplaced our coconut friend in my sister’s car and left it in Florida. I am not going to lie, we are devastated.

Stay tuned for Days 3-6!

2 thoughts on “Vacation: Palm Beach (Days 1 & 2)”

  1. I went to several events and weddings in PBG when I lived in Florida – sooo beautiful there! And was definitely a regular at Brewziis & Blue Martini in City Place. My bf lived in West Palm so we ended up there quite often!

    Very impressive you got your speedwork done, I would have totally bailed if I was on vacation!

    1. I loved the area and definitely loved city place and the gardens. It was my first time up there without just driving through. As for my speed work, I’m lucky I got that in because I didn’t do anything else the rest of the week. I shouldn’t be skipping long runs this close to the marathon.

Leave a Comment

