Fun, Top 5 Tuesday

Top 5 Tuesday

I decided last week that I wanted to spice up my blog a little bit so viola!, a weekly post about my Top 5s. I feel like I always bore you with just day to day occurences in my boring life, so now you get to hear some of my favorite things. Each Tuesday my Top 5 could be about anything. They will vary from my favorite foods to my favorite books to my favorite vacation spots. My inaugural week Top 5 issss……

Top 5 Races I have run (#1 being my absolute favorite):

5. Run Through Deal 5k

  • This was my first ever race and it was around the beautiful ocean town of Deal, NJ. The best part (besides being my first race and my introduction to the racing high), free (unlimited) beer and Mike’s Subs at the end.
Participating in the kids fun run!

4. ING Miami Half Marathon

  • The ING Miami Half Marathon was my 3rd half marathon and my 1st under 2 hours. I followed the 2:00 pacer through the streets of Downtown Miami into South Beach. A lot of the run was along the water so I had beautiful views. It was the first long distance race I ran that I felt great, didn’t take any walk breaks, and had trained all on the treadmill. My sister showed up at the end with a motivating sign!
Thanks Ali!

3. Runapalooza Marathon Relay

  • This was a 5 person relay I ran with my friends including Ashley (runningbun). The relay started in Seaside, NJ and finished at the Asbury Park Convention Center in Asbury Park, NJ. It was fun to run this with friends and be able to drive around and see each person as they were running their part of the relay. We all used the Find Friends app so we can figure out where each person was running and be able to go park the car and cheer them on before we had to drop the next person off at their exchange point.
Colorful shoes, pre-run picture

2. Baltimore Women’s Classic 5k

  • This was my first, all women’s race and it was so much fun. I met up with 2 friends in the Inner Harbor and they had a lot going on before the race started. They had all the women participating in Zumba and other warm ups. The race went through the Federal Hill neighborhood of Baltimore and the last 1/2 mile was along the waterfront promenade.
The finish line is sooo close. Focus!

1. Tunnel to Towers Run 5k

  • This run had more than 25,000 participants including policeman and fireman from NYC. The route was the same one as FDNY firefighter Stephen Siller, who risked his life on September 11, 2001. “On September 11th, firefighter Stephen Siller had just gotten off the late shift at Squad 1, Park Slope, Brooklyn.  He was on his way to play golf with his brothers on that bright clear day when his scanner told of the first plane hitting the Twin Towers.  When he heard the news, he called his wife Sally to tell her he would be late because he had to help those in need.  He returned to Squad 1 to get his gear, then took his final heroic steps to the World Trade Center.  When Stephen drove his truck  to the Brooklyn Battery Tunnel, it was already closed to traffic .  With sixty pounds of gear strapped to his back, he ran through the Tunnel, hoping  to meet up with his own company, Squad 1.”
  • It was a very emotional race and it was amazing to see all of the people participating and supporting this hero.
Running through the Tunnel with Ashley

Stay tuned for another Top 5 Tuesday next week!

1 thought on “Top 5 Tuesday”

Leave a Comment

