What I Ate Wednesday: A Day in the Life

So a little background as to why I am jumping on the bandwagon of the What I Ate Wednesday craze. I  subscribe to a lot of blogs and on Wednesdays, my inbox is bombarded with What I Ate Wednesday posts. I finally decided to check out why everyone was writing about the same thing every Wednesday. I mean, I love to take pictures of what I eat and I love to post about it so this “blog social event” was right up my alley. It all started at Peas & Crayons and you can read about it here. Basically, you photograph a day of meals and post about it on Wednesday.

My first WIAW (look, I am already down with the lingo) is a typical day in the life of ME! It is pretty much what I normally eat on any regular day excluding weekends. Weekends are NEVER normal and NEVER the same!

Breakfast is usually a Chobani Greek yogurt and a waffle. My favorite flavors lately are Blood Orange and Apple Cinnamon and I switch between the two throughout the week. My favorite waffles are Van’s Whole Grain Waffles.

A typical lunch lately is a salad (with whatever veggies and fruit I have at home) and either a sandwich or leftovers. This week’s salad includes tomatoes, pine nuts, arugula, broccoli slaw, and goat cheese crumbles with thyme and apricot.


My sandwich can be something boring like a ham and cheese on wheat or leftovers like this week’s Caprese quinoa. It’s a little spinoff of the Caprese Spaghetti Squash I made a couple of weeks ago (thanks to Melissa) but unfortunately our spaghetti squash went bad so we (we, as in myself and Alyssa) substituted quinoa pasta instead.

Afternoon snacks usually include fruit, buffalo pretzel crisps (if you haven’t tried them, you need to! Amazing!) or rice cakes.

Dinner has been a lot different recently than what I am used to. I didn’t cook much at my old place so it was a lot of lean cuisines and pasta. Ever since I moved in with Alyssa, we have been cooking almost every night of the week. Our dinners usually vary between different recipes we find but when all else fails, we make tilapia or another type of fish we have in the house sautéed in lemon juice. We serve it with some sort of grain (quinoa, couscous, or rice) and veggies.

And of course, you can never forget dessert! Lately, it has been Ben & Jerry’s Green Frozen Yogurt.

So, these are some of my typical weekday (and i STRESS weekday) meals.

 

What does a typical day look like for you?
Do your weekends change drastically like mine? Or do you try to keep to the same foods all week?

This entry was posted in Eats and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

