Uncategorized

Running with Music

Fact: I run with music. Whether it be a training run or a race, I will run with my iPod. Unless I am running with someone else and I don’t want to be rude. There is a lot of skepticism towards runners and music. I completely understand the rules behind running with an iPod during a race for safety reasons. My rant today is about the people who believe “real” runners should be listening to their bodies instead of music and taking in the sights. Don’t get me wrong, I love mother nature. I mean, I think I speak for most runners when I say I’d rather run outside with great views, whether it be a city skyline, a beach, mountains, than on a treadmill in a room with no windows. If you are a runner who would choose the latter, more power to you.

I’ve read forums and tons of blogs and have come across articles where people rant about their hatred of other runners who run with music. My opinion? To each their own. The same logic goes to those who believe runners have to run at a certain pace to be considered a “runner.” I love to run with music. It pumps me up and gets me through long runs. Whether a slower song comes on to get me through the middle miles of a long run or a power song to pump me up when I don’t think I can go on anymore.

Have you heard others mention this before?
Do you like to run with music as much as I do?

I have read before (a long time ago and I am not sure where) that people who run above a certain pace shouldn’t consider themselves runners, but joggers. I gave myself a really hard time about calling myself a runner when I began running 3 years ago. I could barely run a mile or two straight without taking a walk break and would run at a 10 minute/mile pace or slower. One day I realized that I AM a runner because I go out there each day and do something I love. It doesn’t matter how fast you are or whether or not you listen to your body or Crazy Train by Ozzy Osborne. All I have to do is throw on my sneakers, press play on my iPod, and put one foot in front of the other.

3 thoughts on “Running with Music”

  1. I’ve heard that too. When I’m on the treadmill I always run with music, so I don’t die of boredom. On the track, I need music to make me run faster. It pushes me. When outside (usually long runs), I run with one earbud in. Then I can make sure my breathing is under control/not running too fast, and also to stay aware of my surroundings (esp if on the trail early in the morning). I do this too when running with friends so I have music in the background but can still chat 🙂

  2. I do the same thing! Sometimes when running with a friend, they might go up ahead or I might so its nice to have music as a backup in case that happens.Or if you are only running a part of the run together!

Leave a Comment

