Vacation: South Beach (Day 4 Part 1)

Day 4 = no more working, all vacation!! We woke up Friday morning and packed up because we were checking out of the hotel at 11am. My sister was coming up from Fort Lauderdale to pick us up so the 3 of us laid by the pool until it was check out time. After we dropped off the rental car at the airport, we were on our way to South Beach!!

First stop, Lighthouse Point, FL. There is an amazing restaurant there that I used to go to all the time when I lived in Florida called Bonefish Mac’s. I get the same salad every time I go and have never tried anything else. The Summer Delight Salad includes mixed greens tossed with fresh sliced strawberries, glazed pecans, mandarin oranges, pineapple, banana, and craisins and served with the greatest Key Lime dressing I’ve ever had. Well, it’s the only key lime dressing I have ever had. Tim and my sister Joanna both got tacos. Tim ordered the Fiji Fire Tacos (Three spicy shrimp tacos topped with lettuce, tomato, cheese and green onion, served in soft flour shells with a side of fresh fried potato chips & avocado ranch.) but obviously substituted fries for the chips!

After a delicious lunch (or breakfast since we hadn’t eaten any that morning), we drove down to Miami. I drove and Tim took some pictures of the drive in.

Instead of staying at a hotel, I ended up booking a vacation rental for a lot cheaper than what I was finding for hotels for a Friday and Saturday night. It was a 1 bedroom apartment with a full, modern kitchen, living room, and bathroom. For less than $300 for the weekend, it was a steal in South Beach! The location was great too! It was 3 blocks from the beach and 1 block from Lincoln Rd Mall which is a long strip of shops and restaurants.

Since, we hadn’t made it to the beach much this week we headed up to 14th st beach around 3pm and hung out for a couple of hours. For how late it was in the day, the beach was packed! Tim and I also had a little fun taking pictures of our first steps into the ocean.

I hope you enjoyed my captions. I know, I’m a nerd.

Later on tonight I will post our night out on the town with my sisters and their boyfriends! Delectable dinner pictures to come! (Surprised?)

This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vacation: South Beach (Day 4 Part 1)

  1. Melissa says:

    Obviously we didn’t know each other back then, despite mutual friends (Ashley, Nicole, Bri) but how did I not know you lived in FL at some point?!

    That is definitely a steal on a place to stay in SB. Great idea – will need to look into something like that for my next vacation!

Leave a Comment

