Random Friday Ramblings

Happy Friday everyone! I have been anxiously waiting for Friday to arrive because this weekend I have 4 days off! Not only do I have Columbus Day off, but I also have Tuesday off. Yay for 4 day weekends!

I don’t have much planned this weekend and that’s how I like it. The past few weeks have been crazy and I am happy to just relax.I have actually had time to cook dinner this week and I made a GREAT orzo dish.

Ingredients
1/2 box of orzo
1 can of Chick Peas
Spinach
Roasted Red Peppers
Minced Garlic
Lemon Juice
Olive Oil
Salt
Romano Cheese

Directions
Cook orzo according to package directions
While orzo is cooking, saute the peppers and spinach in a pan with olive oil, garlic, lemon juice, and salt.
When orzo is done, add ingredients from saute pan and chick peas.
Add as much or as little cheese as you prefer.

Tada! Easiest & fastest dinne! If you have more veggies in the house, you can add whatever you prefer. I hadn’t gone food shopping in a week or so and didn’t have any fresh veggies on hand. Portobello mushrooms would have been delicious!

Pumpkin Picking
My knee has been bothering me all week and I have only ran twice. I am hoping it feels better for a long run tomorrow or Sunday but I am not very optimistic about it because the pain hasn’t subsided. I do, however, plan on going apple and pumpkin picking and eating lots of apple cider donuts!

Tim sent me an email for Milburn Orchards in Elkton, MD and their upcoming events. I am not going to lie, this looks like the perfect weekend to me!

Roomie Dinner

Last night, I made dinner for my roomies. I used the orzo that was left over as the starch for the dish and cooked the last 2 fillets of tilapia. The tilapia is so easy to cook! I put each fillet  on a piece of tin foil with lemon juice, basil, and salt and place on a baking sheet (easy clean up!). Cook at 350 for 12-15 minutes and voila! Lemon basil tilapia! I placed a dollop of daisy (I mean pineapple salsa) on the tilapia. As I was baking the tilapia, I sauteed spinach and portobello mushrooms with olive oil, salt, and lemon juice. Again, such a fast and easy dinner!

After dinner, we decided to get some frozen yogurt from Sweet Frog. They always have so many flavors and toppings to pick from. I chose pumpkin yogurt with gingerbread cookies and coconut macaroon pieces. Yeah, not my healthiest choice but amazing, nonetheless.

I swear there is frozen yogurt under there somewhere!

Kickball

Kickball Thursdays is back after a BYE week due to a Thursday Ravens game. Apparently MD has so many devout Ravens fans that people don’t show up for the games and there are tons of forfeits.

First off, we have some great players on our team with a lot of, ahem, character. This week, the boys wanted to dress up as superheroes. We had Batman, Robin, and Superman playing for Team Safety Pink this week. Although we didn’t win, we were definitely the best dressed and most fun team out there.

Have a good weekend!!!

This entry was posted in Eats, Fun, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Random Friday Ramblings

  1. Pingback: Top 5 Tuesday: Fall Recipes | Runner Ritsa

Leave a Comment

