Eats, Fun

Pop Quiz: Fitness

If you follow Ashley at Runningbun (and you should), you would know that we are best friends, seriously. This week a quiz popped up on her blog about running and fitness. Check it out here. I LOVE quizzes and surveys so once I saw it on her blog,  I knew I had to fill it out myself. According to her post, she saw the quiz originate on The Hungry Runner Girl. Let’s keep the quiz going!

1. FUEL: Shot Bloks, GU, Energy Chews, Candy or Other?

I’ve tried GU & Shot Bloks before but only once or twice so I am not sure how it affects or helps my runs. Lately, I have either had a Honey Stinger Waffle before a run or just a banana with peanut butter since I have stomach issues while running. I tend to eat a lot at night so when I wake up to do long runs, I’m usually so full from the night before that I don’t really need much fuel for my runs. Bananas for breakfast and bananas for a mid run snack if I feel nauseous.

2. Race Length: 5k, 10k, 1/2 Marathon, Marathon, Ultra or Other?

I have never run a marathon (or an ultra for that matter). If you’ve read my previous posts, you know I am training for the Philly Marathon next month. Since I can’t speak for the marathon, yet, I would say my favorite race length is the half marathon. I love the training that goes into it and how I feel after I have completed it. Since the training isn’t as intense as the marathon, I am less likely to get injured. Sore subject.

3. Workout Bottoms: Skirts, Running Shorts, Capris, Pants or Other?

Running shorts. I love my Saucony spandex shorts and the identical ones I have from Road Runner Sports. I alternate them all week long. I also love my Lululemon Speed Shorts and I have them in 2 colors!

4. Sports Drink: Gatorade, Powerade, Cytomax, you stick to water when you run or Other?

Most of my long runs start off with a bottle of NUUN and then just plain ol’ refreshing H2O.

5. Running Temperatures: HEAT or COLD?

I love Fall. I love 50 degree weather that I can run out of the house in a short sleeve shirt and shorts, be cold for a second, and then get a great sweat on. I hate the very cold and that is when I tend to hit the treadmill. The same could be said for a 90+ degree day unless it is a short run.

Brrrrrrr

6. Running Shoe Brands: Suacony, Mizuno, Nike, Brooks, Asics or Other?

Brooks & Asics. I started out with Saucony Guide’s for a stability shoe but it ended up feeling too heavy for me and I wanted to get into lighter, more minimalist shoe which brings me to my beloved Asics Sky Speeds. RIP. Asics discontinued my favorite performance neutrals so I switched to a performance stability (since my injuries were making me realize that I may need a little stability) in the Brooks Pure Cadence and I LOVE THEM! So comfy and light.

7. Pre-race meal: Oatmeal, Bagel, Banana, Eggs, Cereal or Other?

I decided that any type of bread made my stomach hurt (and made me go to the bathroom 47328478392x during runs, ewwww) so I have switched to bananas and peanut butter. That is all.

8. Rest Days: 1x per week, 2x or more per week, never ever ever or Other?

Lately, because of my injuries, I feel like every day is a rest day. But only perfect weeks, I rest twice a week, run 3 times a week, and cross train the other 2 days.

9. Music: Have to have it or go without it?

Music. Most of my runs are lonely so I need music to pump me up. Shorter races I can run without music or if I have a running buddy. I have never ran a half marathon with someone the whole time so I usually listen to music.

10. #1 reason for running: stress-relief, endorphins, you love to race, so you can eat all the cupcakes you want, weight-loss, love running for social reasons or other?

All of the above! Sometimes I need to just get out there and run on a gorgeous day to relive stress and get rid of a bad mood. I also love the way running makes me feel. So I guess that can be both the endorphins and how my body has changed since I started running. And if you know me, I love sweets so the more I run, the more cupcakes I can eat, right?

Your turn!!! GO!

Tonight’s dinner…

Since I have been eating sweets all weekend and pizza and french fries and yucky food, I made a healthy dinner for Alyssa and I tonight. Tilapia (gasp, surprise!), orzo, broccoli, spinach, and brussels sprouts. I flavored the veggies with some lemon juice. The tilapia was baked in aluminum foil with salt, basil, and lemon juice. I cooked the orzo according to the package and mixed in some asiago cheese while it was still hot.

 

 

 

Doctor’s Orders

Yesterday I went to Towson Sports Medicine, yet again, for another injury. This time I have been diagnosed with patellofemoral pain syndrome along with my ITBS. Treatment? Rest, Ice, and STRETCHING! More and more stretching. I even set my alarm this morning for 5:58 to stretch before I had to get ready for work. I didn’t quite get up (what? snooze?) but there’s always tomorrow!

 

Leave a Comment

