Brown Sugar Oatmeal Coconut Chewies

Today I am working from home. Do you know how nice it is to “sleep in” (and by sleep in I mean not having to get ready and commute to work) and work in the comfort of my own home with my PJs still on? I also had time to MAKE my own coffee instead of stop at Dunkin and pay for a coffee. Yay for teleworking!

I am also hoping to get a workout in at lunch since now I can sit and eat lunch at my computer and still get work done. How efficient am I?

The last 2 weekends I have made these absolutely AMAZING cookies. Obviously I loved them the first time if I made them again a week later. I found the recipe on pinterest, compliments of The Dough Will Rise Again blog and I would like to share it with you!

Brown Sugar Oatmeal Coconut Chewies

Ingredients
1 cup butter, slightly softened
1 1/4 cup brown sugar, packed (I used light brown sugar)
3/4 cup sugar
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 eggs
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
1 cup quick cooking oats (I used Quaker Oats Old Fashioned Oats)
1 1/2 cup shredded coconut

Directions
1.) Preheat oven to 350°. Cream together butter and sugars, until they are well combined.
2.) Add one egg at a time until they are well combined.
3.) Add baking soda, baking powder, and salt to the wet mixture. Add the flour in increments until the mixture is (again) well combined.
4.) Mix in oats and coconut.
5.) Roll dough into balls, or use a cookie scoop. I rolled the dough into balls the first time I baked these and the second time I used a cookie scoop so whatever works for you. The balls should be about 1 inch in diameter.
6.) Place the dough balls on a baking sheet lined with parchment. Bake for 8-10 minutes until the cookies begin to look the LIGHTEST brown around the edges and they may still look a little too soft in the middle. When they cool, they will be just right!
7.) Let the cookies cool down for 5-10 minutes and then move to a cooling rack. I don’t own a cooling rack (say what!?) so I kept them on the parchment paper until they were fully cooled, ate a few, and put the rest in an airtight container.

This recipe ended up making about 3 dozen cookies. And trust me, they go fast! Tim doesn’t like coconut so I didn’t add the coconut until half of the cookies were on a baking sheet and then added coconut for us coconut lovers. I also added some chocolate chips to the batter at the end for some Brown Sugar Oatmeal Coconut Chocolate Chip chewies. Wow what a mouthful but delicious!

Happy Thursday! Break’s over. Back to work…

This entry was posted in Eats, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Brown Sugar Oatmeal Coconut Chewies

  1. Pingback: Friday Fun | Runner Ritsa

  2. Pingback: Top 5 Tuesday: 4th of July Treats | Runner Ritsa

Leave a Comment

