Smooth roads never make a good runner

Since I have been considering myself immobile lately due to my runner’s knee and IT band problems in my right leg and a sneaky, don’t remember twisting my ankle, ankle sprain that appeared out of nowhere (don’t ask) in my right leg, I have been reading A LOT and being super lazy. Do you ever receive your Runner’s World in the mail or pick up the latest issue of Fitness and feel healthy just reading it although you’re not actually exercising? That is how I have been lately. No judging.

I also picked up Dean Karnazes‘ book “Run” up at Barnes and Noble last weekend and I am almost done.

I highly recommend this book and any others he has written. His books aren’t about motivating you to run hundreds of miles across the Sahara Desert or Ultra marathons in high altitude, but to be active, stay active, and follow your dreams. Coincidentally, his dream is to run, A LOT.

Although, like I said, I love his books since his words and stories are so inspiring, I am also overcome with some jealousy since I am injured right now and can’t just go out for a 100 mile run after reading a chapter. Throughout his book I have been waiting for a chapter where he speaks about injuries and how he overcomes them but nothing yet. How do you do it, Karno?

When I talked myself out of feeling jealous of Karno, and other runners who aren’t injured, I decided I need a new outlook on my injury and my future running. Finally!! Right? No more hearing posts about me feeling bad about myself? This revelation or whatever you’d like to think of it as, also came along with some creepy little LBs that have shown up on my scale.

Dean wrote that we have killed our souls with comfort instead of seeking fulfillment and achievement. He explains that this is one of the reasons he runs all these “crazy” ultra marathons. He doesn’t want to be comfortable. To him, running through intense heat or cold, or at very high or low altitudes for hundreds of miles may cause pain but this pain turns into achievement. He states that “instead of seeking comfort, runners approach the very edge of chaos. As the ravages of potentially deliberating pain take hold, the runner fights to overcome and command the very force that threatens to bring him to his knees.” “Just as a problem-free life never makes a strong and good person, smooth roads never make a good runner.” Pain doesn’t have to mean suffering. Pain can be good and he has said it more than once, “there is magic in misery.”

So, before I can immerse myself in the pain of running ultra marathons (kidding) and putting his great words to work, I, first and foremost, have to recover from my injuries.

How do I do that, you ask? Well this is where Jen from Peanut Butter Runner comes in. I subscribe to her blog and she wrote a great post yesterday. Check it out here. She, too, has been facing many injuries and needs to also find a way forward. I feel her pain and agree with everything she had to say. Her post, Focus on Mobility, is her way of moving forward. No more feeling sorry for herself and her injuries and being unmotivated to do anything because of those injuries (wait, that’s me, too!!!).

I am committing with her (whether she knows this or not) to start treating my injuries and moving forward to become a better runner. Not that I haven’t been treating my injuries, but I know I need to do more. I am currently going to PT but it doesn’t seem to be enough. The focus on mobility, starting now, is to strengthen, foam roll, and stretch, our injuries out of us for good.

Get me back to here. Happy, fast, and injury free!

Get me back to here. Happy, focused, and injury-free!

Who is with us? If anyone has been injured before, you know how frustrating it can be. I have become so anxious because I can’t run and it is putting a damper on my physical fitness and eating habits. So today, I begin my journey to become injury free with a positive attitude and A LOT of hard work.

Thank you, Karno and Jen, for helping me realize what I need to do to get running again and achieve and exceed my goals!

Who are your heroes/motivators?
What did you do to overcome any past/current injuries?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Smooth roads never make a good runner

  1. Best of luck and hang in there! I know how frustrating and depressing it can be when an injury is holding you back.

Leave a Comment

