Life, running

2013 Resolutions

I know I am a little late with posting some of my resolutions this year but I have been sick this week and haven’t felt like sitting in front of a computer with this massive headache. Better late than never. I have always been a person to have a new years resolution to eat healthier, lose weight, or exercise more but never stuck with them. I realized that it is because these resolutions are too general and broad. I need resolutions and I need little tasks on how to reach them as a whole.

The past few weeks I have come up with A LOT of resolutions. I don’t care that I have probably way too many and may not accomplish all of them but I want to strive to become the best ME this year and this is how I will do it:

MAIN RESOLUTION: Become a better ME

How do I become a better me? Well, by accomplishing these mini resolutions that have even tinier resolutions. In no particular order:

  • RUN!!! RUN, RUN, RUN, RUN, RUN
    • In order to get back into running this year, I need to recover from my injuries and prevent injuries in the future. This year (and for the rest of my running life) I strive to..
      • Stretch, Ice, and Foam roll daily
      • Do more yoga
      • Take rest days
  • Floss every day
  • Eat Healthier
    • Cut back on refined carbs
      • If you read my blog, you know I have a sweet tooth. This year, I also realized that I loved to bake which did not help my sweet tooth. I need to train my brain to steer away from refined sugar and focus on enjoying and being fulfilled by fruit and other healthy snacks (like Healthy Bites) when a craving hits.
      • Or maybe… every time I want to eat something sweet and loaded with sugar and other bad for me ingredients, I will instead “Drop and do 20 push ups.” BAM! No sugar and a killer, upper body.
    • Eat more protein- I have been using MyFitnessPal to track my calories, fat, carbs, and protein lately and I have noticed that my carbs almost double my protein intake. I would like to find more ways to incorporate protein into my diet and aim for 80-100g per day.
    • Drink more water- I have headaches all the time and I know I don’t drink enough water and I am blaming my headaches on my lack of water intake. Sometimes I notice that I don’t even drink anything until lunch time. I will start filling up my huge water bottle with water at the beginning of the day and fill it each time it is empty. I would like to drink at least (starting off) 64 oz of water a day.
  • Work on my motivation
    • Since I became injured and stopped running, I have found myself using more and more excuses to not workout. In all reality, I hate the bike and elliptical and would rather poke my eyes out than use those machines. But in order to recover from my injury and still do cardio, I know I have to use those machines sometimes. I need more motivation to get off the couch and get to the gym or do a work out.
      • To help with this motivation, I am striving to be able to do at least 5 pull ups this year. No assistance!
      • Plank A Day- I need to build my core muscles and if you are a runner, you know how important your core strength is to your running. Starting today (nope, not January 1) I would like to do a plank every day and one that is at least 1 minute long. I would also like to add side planks to work on my obliques and hip strength.
  • Create my own Happiness Project
    • I am currently reading Gretchen Rubin’s “The Happiness Project” and I love it. This book is about a woman looking to find her true happiness by resolving to work on a little part of herself each month of the year and bringing it all together in December. She knows she is happy in her life but not to the full extent of the happiness she could feel if she changed a few things.
    • This is one of the main resolutions to help me become even better. I am happy most of the time but I want to be as happy as I should and can be.  Although I don’t know everything that will make up my adventure to find true happiness, but I do know where to start.
      • Work on my attitude- Yes, I do have that Jersey Girl attitude. I tend to get upset really easily and snap at people who haven’t done anything wrong. I have a bit of a temper and something little can set me off. I need to make changes to how I go about certain things when I am upset.
        • I need to learn to count to 10 to calm down. Be patient. Take deep breaths. Ask myself if I will be upset about this in a few weeks. Remind myself of this person’s good qualities and stop focusing on the flaws. I need to take responsibility for my actions and not be defensive. Stop blaming.
        • SMILE! Have you ever been upset and forced yourself to smile? Do it! You can actually cause yourself to think about something that actually makes you smile. It’s great!
      • Stop the comments- I tend to make snippy, bratty comments when I am told something I don’t like. I don’t know why they come out but I have been working (and it definitely helps) to not blurt anything out and think about what was said before I comment on it. I think it’s working.
      • Stop stressing over things I can’t change- You can’t change people or how they think or what has been done. Stressing over it just makes it worse.
  • Sleep Better
    • I am a horrible sleeper. I wake up a million times a night and can’t figure out what I am doing wrong. Step 1- figure out why I suck at sleeping.
    • Try to get 8 hours of sleep a night
    • Stop using my phone/computer/TV at least 30 minutes before bedtime
    • Go to bed earlier. By 10pm!

I know this is all a lot to aim for in 2013 and beyond but I am ready to start tackling this longggggg to-do list. I will try to post a recap at the end of each month with how well I am doing with my resolutions and what I have accomplished so far and what I am struggling with! Here is to a GREAT 2013! And many more years….

4 thoughts on “2013 Resolutions”

Leave a Comment

