Weekend Eats

Friday night Alyssa and I had some friends over for some homemade Stuffed Peppers. It was a relaxing Friday night, my favorite kind. Working AND working out all week leaves me tired and sleepy on friday nights. The stuffed peppers were really easy and per usual, Alyssa and I usually just combine any ingredients we already have in the house to make dinner.

Ingredients
5 colored peppers
1 cup of chickpeas (we used a can)
1 lb. of ground turkey
1/2 onion
1 large portobello mushroom
1 cup of stewed tomatoes (we used a can)
Your favorite shredded cheese
Olive oil

Directions
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Cut off tops of peppers and removed seeds.
In a large saucepan, add olive oil (and some cooking spray to keep it lower in calories) and ground turkey and sauté until almost cooked through.
Add onion, mushroom, tomatoes, and chickpeas to saucepan with meat.
In a somewhat deep baking pan, add the peppers.
Add the meat and veggie mixture to each stuffed pepper.
Bake for 35 minutes. 5 minutes before your time goes off, remove peppers and sprinkle shredded cheese on top of the peppers and then continue to bake for the remaining 5 minutes.

We made a salad for a side dish.

photo 3-7

photo 1-7

We made more than enough of the stuffing to eat for a few days so lunch on Saturday was the stuffed pepper, minus the pepper.

photo 2-10

Saturday evening was date night with Tim. We headed to PF Changs. It is one of our favorite restaurants and we haven’t been there in awhile.

We had to wait quite awhile so we grabbed a drink at the bar. I have become hooked on Bourbon lately and anytime I find a great bourbon drink on a menu, I feel obligated to order it. Saturday night was a Twisted Whiskey Sour with bourbon, orange juice, cointreau, and orange bitters.

photo 1-8

We decided to eat off of the Dinner for Two menu and each ordered the egg drop soup and the chicken lettuce wraps to start. I was so hungry that I forgot to take pictures. Whoopsies.

Tim ordered the Cashew Shrimp with Honeydew and I ordered the Sea Bass (which had a $9!!! up charge). Another whoopsie.

photo 2-11

photo 3-8

To complete the meal, we ordered two mini desserts: blueberry cheesecake and peanut butter crunch chocolate cake. They were super tiny and again, I did not take a picture.

Sunday was a junk food mess that I just want to forget. It was a day spent in a bar for Championship Football games. Go 49ers and go Ravens!! I kept the beers to a minimum (only 3 in 6 hours) but the food is another story. Alyssa and I split fried pickles, margarita pizza, seared tuna bites, and pretzel sticks with honey mustard and cheese sauces. Not all at once but throughout the day. Not to mention I also snacked on some wings. You can’t watch football without wings!

Lastly, my friend Keelan and I decided to add dessert to a football and beer Sunday. A GIGANTIC Chipwich. It was amazing but I felt sick for the rest of the night.

photo 5-3

Clean eating is on the agenda for this week. No sweets!! (A no sweets day, let alone a whole week, is rare for me. Very rare)

Hope you had a great weekend!

This entry was posted in Eats and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

