Nike Women’s Marathon Half DC

Back in November, my two friends (sisters Ashley and Shelley) and myself registered as a group in the random drawing for entrance into the first Nike Women’s HALF Marathon in Washington, DC. The race caps out at 15,000 runners including guaranteed spots for college students. Our chances were slim but on December 14th, we received a confirmation that we were accepted into the race.

header

I was injured when I registered for the race but had just started Physical Therapy and assumed I would be ready for a half marathon by April not thinking far enough into the situation that I would need to start training about 12 weeks out. Whoops. Now, 11 weeks from race day and I have run a handful of times since that day back in November when I registered. Double whoops.

I have had my ups and downs in the last few months. Times when I wanted to give up and times when I thought my knee injury was behind me (but I was wrong). After countless weeks of frustration, I found CrossFit. On January 14th, I went to my first CrossFit workout and was hooked. In the last month, I have gone to CrossFit 3-4 times a week and already feel myself getting stronger. One of the results I am seeing is with pullups. Most girls I know can’t do unassisted pull-ups, including myself. At my “box” (another name for a CrossFit gym), we use different color bands for resistance starting with black with the most resistance (to green, blue, red) and ending at purple with the least resistance. I started out with green and have now moved down to blue for workouts with tons of reps and red for warmups or lighter workouts. I have also stopped getting so frustrated with my inability to train the way I should be right now for a half marathon. Either CrossFit has my mind occupied for the time being or CrossFit has won my heart. We shall see.

Today, i took a break from CrossFit and hit the treadmill. The outcome? Finally, a really really really good one. I ran 5 miles! This is the most I have ran since the Philadelphia Half Marathon back in November. This 5 miles also marks my FIRST run with absolutely NO KNEE PAIN! The best part? I ran intervals at a 7:30-8:00 pace with an active recovery of 400m at 9:22. That means NO WALKING. I ran 5 miles at an average pace of 8:23 with my warm up and cool down. Maybe this is my light at the end of the tunnel and if so, I wish you could see the smile on my face.

photo-8

Bring it on, Nike, bring it on!

Eff yeah I run this body!

Eff yeah I run this body!
Tshirt courtesy of www.mile-posts.com

This entry was posted in CrossFit, running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Nike Women’s Marathon Half DC

  1. pickyrunner says:

    Ahhhh I’m so jealous you’re doing the Nike half! I wanted to do it so badly but unfortunately it falls on the same day as my track conferences. I hope you’re able to do it and that your knees hold up! That is a frustrating feeling for sure.

  2. Melissa says:

    So glad you’re finally back running again pain-free! I still haven’t tried CrossFit (not that I need something else to shell out money on…) but that’s awesome it’s helping you get stronger. I bet it definitely will help with your running! Good luck with training for the NWM!

  3. Great job! I will be there too with Team in Training. Your super fast, maybe I can catch you at the finish 🙂 Take Care SPA love!

  4. Brittany says:

    1. I need that shirt you’re wearing.

    2. I hurt my knee last week and have a half THIS effing Sunday! I should have found Crossfit sooner.

    3. SO jazzed this is working for you, and amazing job on those 5miles!

  5. Yay! Good for you! It’s like we’re going through the same things! I’m glad you feel better!

  6. kelsierakay says:

    i just signed up for this last night! i’m so excited. i’ve never been to DC before, so I can’t wait to site see while running!

    runningathousandmiles.blogspot.com/

Leave a Comment

