Eats, Recipes, running

Long Run Sunday {and bubble buns}

I can officially say I have FINALLY run a long run for the first time in at least 4 months (not including half marathon sunday in November). YAY!! Over the last few months while nursing an injury, I have ran a few miles here and there each week with the longest run being about 5 miles on the treadmill. Today, after a frustrating (long story, no one cares!) morning, I looked at the weather and decided a 37 degree (feels like 27) run was what I needed, minus the weather part because it took a little convincing to get out in the cold. I even text a friend to see if I could use a guest pass to their gym so I could get out of running outside. But instead, I sucked it up, put on some ear warmers, my Garmin (first time since November), and went out for a short run.

8 miles later, here I am! Injury free? Ughhh no. Frustrated? Not anymore thanks to the winter sun and some heavy thinking. What I have found to be the most frustrating part about my injury is not being able to run when I am frustrated. On days when I am angry, sad, upset, frustrated or any other emotion that requires some me time to clear my head, I have always resorted to running. Whats more frustrating than being frustrated? Not being able to run when I am frustrated. How is that for a tongue twister?

Anyway, back to my run. I ran 8 somewhat hilly miles in 1:09:20 which comes out to an 8:40/mi average. I didn’t check my Garmin’s settings when I started running and it was on a weird setting and 1 mile in I changed it and for some reason my 8 miles is only split into 2 laps. Silly Garmin.

Distance: 8.01 mi
Time: 1:09:21
Avg Pace: 8:40 min/mi
Elevation Gain: 351 ft
Calories: 780 C

 

Split
Time
Distance
Avg Pace
Summary 1:09:20.6 8.01 8:40
1 8:28.4 1.00 8:28
2 1:00:52.2 7.01 8:41

Earlier this week….

I was on a super sugar overload this week. I do not know why but it was wayyyyy more than usual. We had a few parties at work on Tuesday and Wednesday so there were lots of cupcakes, cake, and mostly frosting that I could not say no to. And on Thursday night, I hit an all time low (or high) on the sugar chart. After a very healthy dinner of stuffed peppers and salmon, I pulled out the middle school cookbook.

photo 1-14

photo 4-7

My friend suggested cinnamon buns for dinner and the first thought that came to my head when he said that was BUBBLE BUNS. I am not sure how your home economics class was in middle school but Point Pleasant knew how to bring out the fat kid in you. Bubble Buns are the only recipe I can remember making but by far one of the tastiest and easiest treats. All you need are Pillsbury Biscuits, marshmallows, butter, cinnamon, and sugar.

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit
  • Melt 1/2 stick of butter in the microwave
  • Mix about 1/2 cup of sugar and a few tbsp of cinnamon to make the cinnamon sugar. You may need more or less depending on how much you prefer to coat the biscuits with the mix
  • Line a muffin pan with cupcake liners
  • Flatten out the biscuits and wrap one marshmallow in each
  • photo 2-21With the end that you closed on the biscuit, dip in butter and then the cinnamon sugar mix

photo 3-13

  • Bake for 10-12 minutes and….

TA DA!!!! Marshmallow gooey deliciousness.

 

 

photo 5-5

The worst part? I had two! Not just one….

How do you satisfy your sweet tooth? Please someone tell me you have a sweet tooth like mine!!

4 thoughts on “Long Run Sunday {and bubble buns}”

  1. I’ve made those before and they taste SO GOOD! Anyways, nice job on the long run- that’s so awesome that you’re getting back into it again 🙂

  2. Thanks Ritsa. I too grew up in Point Pleasant and the only thing I learned in middle school home ec was how to make bubble buns. I actually googled “bubble buns point pleasant, nj” to find this. Can’t wait to make them. I remembered most of the recipe but you helped me pull the rest together. Best of luck. -Jodi

Leave a Comment

