Banana Oat Pancakes & Speed Work

Working from home has its benefits. One of them being the ability to make breakfast in the morning and not just grab the normal waffle and yogurt. This morning I decided to make Banana Oat Pancakes thanks to a recipe found on Julie’s blog, Peanut Butter Fingers. I followed the recipe mostly until I came to the cottage cheese. I don’t eat cottage cheese and I have never bought it so I didn’t have any in the house. I substituted the cottage cheese for unsweetened almond milk and the recipe still turned out delicious.

 
Banana Oat Pancakes
Recipe adapted from Peanut Butter Fingers’ Banana Bread Protein Pancakes

Ingredients
1/2 cup Old Fashioned Oats
1 egg
1 banana
1/4 cup almond milk (Julie uses 1/4 cup cottage cheese)
1/2 tsp cinnamon

Directions
Mix all ingredients in a bowl with a hand mixer but use only half of the banana. The remainder will be used for topping.
Heat pan on stove and make sure to use cooking spray so the pancakes don’t stick!
Cook pancakes as you would usually, flipping when the edges harden.
Plate and slice remainder of the banana, add more cinnamon for topping (or pumpkin pie spice) and syrup if needed!
Enjoy!

photo 2(45)

photo 3(38)

photo 5(27)

Yesterday…

I took a break from CrossFit yesterday and headed to the gym for a treadmill run. Since I have a half marathon in about 7 weeks, I thought I should focus on running a little bit more. I hopped on the treadmill and decided to work on some speed work. My number one fear when I got injured was that I would lose the speed I had been able to attain while training last year. I think CrossFit has definitely helped with my endurance and kept me somewhat close to the speed I was running last year.

My workout looked like this…

photo 1(48)

treadmillspeedwork 

 

Obviously, I recommend adjusting the pace to your ability. This is the pace I was able to successfully complete each 400m interval. Everyone is different so adjust for YOU!

A few more hours of work and then I have to get packing. Long Island tomorrow for my college roomie’s wedding!!

This entry was posted in Cardio Workouts, Recipes, running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Banana Oat Pancakes & Speed Work

  1. Mmmm… will try to make that Banana Oat Pancakes soon. Sounds delicious! 🙂

Leave a Comment

