If It Fits Your Macros

Last Monday, I started to track everything that I eat and I mean EVERYTHING. I am no longer leaving out some of the “bites” I eat here or there. Everything is being accounted for. I am also making sure I eat healthier and everything I put in my mouth meets my carbs, protein, and fat objectives of the Paleo/Zone diet of 40/30/30. This means 40% of my food comes from carbohydrates, 30% come from fat, and 30% come from protein. These three variables I am basing my diet on are my “macros.”

Calculations for the amount of grams of carbs, protein, and fat I need are as follows based on my 1500 calorie diet (note that 1g of protein/carbs equals 4 calories, and 1 g of fat equals 9 calories):

Carbs: 1500 calories x 40% = 600 calories /4 = 150g daily

Protein: 1500 calories x 30% = 450 calories/4 = approx 113g daily
1 gram of protein per pound of goal body weight or 115g (for me) 30% would actually be 113g so I am taking in 2 more grams they recommended.

Fat: 1500 calories x 30% = 450 calories/9 = 50g daily

Below is a day in the life of my “diet” (cough lifestyle change cough) taken from MyFitnessPal:

$459233DF71FB3363

I am not sure if you notice that delicious Toaster Strudel at the bottom but… IT FITS MY MACROS! I know you probably also notice that big red -45 for sugar but realistically, who can eat just 26g of sugar a day? That is myfitnesspal’s standard but my banana takes up half of my daily grams so I kind of ignore it since I already track my carbs.

If you don’t use myfitnesspal and need a good app to track your meals and calories, I highly recommend it. You can use both the website and download the app to your smartphone. I can find almost everything I eat in their database. It is also very helpful because they have a barcode scanner which will upload everything for you. But in order to be fair (and something that is a HUGE pain in the ass), I measure all of my food by either measuring cup or food scale. It can be annoying but I make sure to pack everything the night before and track everything the night before for the next day so my meals and calories are already accounted for. And as you can see above, I get to eat a lot. And enjoy a snack at the end of the day (YAY toaster strudel). It takes some getting used to and playing around with the app to hit each macro but I swear it gets easier.

Anddd… I have already lost a pound and may possibly see some abs peeking through. Fine, maybe not but they are there somewhere.

For more information regarding the idea behind If it fits your macros, check out IIFYM.com The basic idea is that you can eat the foods you love, just in moderation. As long as you are hitting each macro daily (sometimes i am off by 1 or 2), you should be able to lose weight and eat healthier. I say you can eat healthier because choosing to eat fast food will force your fat and carbs up higher than your protein and it will be a lot harder to match your goal for the day. I mean, this isnt for everyone but I have watched the boyf swear by this for the last few months and he has dropped 15 lbs and has some killer abs. GO BOYF!

I mean, look at those muscles…

 

photo 3(5)

If you have any questions, shoot them my way!! Happy eating.. it’s almost summer!

This entry was posted in Eats, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to If It Fits Your Macros

  1. Jordan says:

    I love your blog! I hope you’ll check mine out too! I’m still a newbie…

  2. Pingback: Friday Fun: Fitness Survey | Runner Ritsa

  3. Cindy Todd says:

    HI!! I just found your blog and am so happy! I have a question for you…my passion is running (all distances up to marathon). The past year I have added more bootcamp/strength training and would like to build more muscle (without giving up my running!). I have been reading a lot lately about IIFYM, and wondered how/if that works for a running based lifestyle? or is it mostly geared towards low cardio people?
    I see you posted about doing IIFYM last year, not sure if you stuck with it? If so, do you increase your macros on long run days, or you manage to keep the same numbers whether it’s a run day or not?
    Any info/advice you can provide me on this subject would be much appreciated!
    Cindy

    • RunnerRitsa says:

      Hi Cindy! I haven’t really kept to the IIFYM lately but my nutrition has been way off and I should probably go back. I didnt change anything whether I was running long or short easy runs. I made sure though that my calories were never too low. As a 125lb girl, I kept them around 1600 each day and that usually sufficed. I actually was never too hungry or too full. It took a lot of work and planning to do the IIFYM but I think it definitely worked and kept me from overeating. I made sure to plan what I was eating the next day and logging it all in myfitnesspal the night before. Hope this helps. Feel free to ask more questions!!

      Side note- I have been running and doing CrossFit a lot over the last 6 months and have found my appetite has surged which is what forced my nutritional goals out the window and I now eat everything in sight. haha.

  4. Michelle says:

    Great Post!!!

    The Zone was the missing piece to the puzzle for me and a pinnacle discovery in my training. I started feeling better both mentally and physically, which allowed me to push harder within my training and performance, thus resulting in a leaner, stronger, happier, and fitter me!!!

    My thoughts and experience on the Zone Diet below:

    http://myjourneyrx.com/2014/03/11/my-experience-on-the-zone-diet/

    Take Care,

    Michelle

Leave a Comment

