Mobility Monday

IMG_4263

My life over the last few months has included a lot of stretching, foam rolling, icing, and mobility exercises. It is something that I am now used to doing and I try to make sure I do it every day. Sometimes I forget or get rather lazy but for the most part, I get it done. And since this is such a big part of my running/CrossFit lifestyle, I thought I would share (each Monday) a post regarding mobility. These posts can include stretches and exercises (check out last week’s Top 5 Tuesday: Mobility post), reviews of equipment and websites that are mobility related, and any other information having to do with Mobility.

Today’s post will highlight mobility exercises and stretches for your hamstrings. My hamstrings tend to get really sore after any hamstring strengthening workout even if I stretch or foam roll. At CrossFit earlier today, the workout included 3 sets of 15 sumo deadlifts with a high pull. I am a little scared for how my hamstrings are going to feel tomorrow. To hopefully reduce any “pain” I may experience tomorrow (not pain pain, but soreness pain) I have come up with a few exercises and stretches to help ease any hamstring pain.

  • Lying Hamstring Stretch with band (2-3 sets of 30 seconds on each leg)
  • Kneeling Hamstring Stretch (2-3 sets of 30 seconds on each leg)
photo-12

Source: NTC Shawn Johnson Stretch Guide

  • Hamstring Massage via Foam Roller (Sit hamstrings on the foam roller and move back and forth 5-10 times. Repeat with toes pointed out and then pointed in)

Source: Men’s Health

  • “Inchworm” or “Baby Elephant” pre-workout stretch (Do 10x prior to intense workout)

 

I hope you enjoyed my first Mobility Monday post. Come back next week for more information on how to prevent injuries and stay injury free!!

This entry was posted in mobility, Mobility, Mobility Monday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

