NYCM Bummer

Screen Shot 2013-05-31 at 9.26.52 AM

After NINE hours of checking my email, bank account, and NYRR’s website (every 5 minutes) I finally got the bad news… I was NOT accepted (by lottery) into the ING New York City Marathon (NYCM).

To tell you the truth, I wasn’t even sure if I wanted to ever run a marathon a few days ago. I registered for the lottery because I had done so the past 2 years and “what are the chances?” Not until noon on Wednesday did I realize how much I wanted to get in! Because of the amount of registrants in the lottery, it takes a REALLY REALLY long time to pick whatever amount was picked this year by the NYRR (New York Road Runners). I know chances this year were even slimmer (due to Hurricane Sandy and the NYCM 2012 being canceled) but for some reason (like every year) I feel like I have this big chance of getting in and don’t understand why I don’t. Anyway, being rejected 3 years in a row means I am GUARANTEED for 2014. So yes, I will be running the NYCM 2014!

But what does that mean for me now? I am in tip top running shape (for me) and have become so much faster (again, for me… its relative, people) in the last year thanks to CrossFit and speed work. I was hoping to get into NYCM so that if I was to only run one marathon in my life, it would be in New York City. But, I am impatient. Since, I am currently in half marathon shape, I need to strive to something else.

A marathon. But where? I am now searching for the new best marathon for me to run this fall. Chicago was my next choice but since it is well beyond sold out, I don’t see the as an option for me. I am willing to travel (dependent on the costs) but I prefer to stay on the East Coast. My two other options right now are the Wineglass Marathon in Corning, NY on October 6th or the Anthem Richmond Marathon in Richmond, VA on November 16th.

I am very open to suggestions for others. I am still doing my research but these two were suggested to me by Ashley. She is running the Wineglass Marathon along with a few friends running the half and even said she would accompany down to Richmond if I chose to run that one (you are stuck into doing that now since the whole world knows, Ash!). I am torn between running a marathon WITH a friend, with being used extremely lightly since I know Ashley is looking to PR, and running a race that has great reviews and is known as America’s Friendliest Race. Who wouldn’t want their first race to be at a friendly one? Although I am not sure how friendly I can be after 26.2 miles.

Not to mention how nervous I am to begin training for a full marathon again. Remember what happened last time? Over 6 months of IT band and knee injury!

photo 2(39)

a lot of icing happened…

A lot of taping happened…

And not a whole lot of running happened. I am nervous that once I get back into those SUPER LONG miles, that I will injury myself again. I know I just need to remind myself to stretch, ice, and foam roll to prevent another injury but the thought still lingers in the back of my mind. But regardless, I am going to train to run another marathon.

Any suggestions? I need YOUR help. If you loved or hated a marathon that you have run, please tell me why! If you have heard great things about another, tell me!!!

This entry was posted in Life, Marathon Training, running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to NYCM Bummer

  1. runninginnj says:

    Sorry to hear about you not getting in, and I’m even more sorry to break some bad news – I was pretty sure I’d heard that they were phasing out the guaranteed entry for those who hadn’t got places for 3 years, and it seems like, from what I can see, you would be impacted by that change (a google search showed this http://www.runningnetwork.com/RNW/index.php/news/marathons/3370-ing-new-york-city-marathon-2012-new-guidelines-for-guaranteed-entry amongst others) – In the past, applicants to the marathon have been eligible for guaranteed entry if they have been denied entry three years in a row. This policy will be gradually eliminated. Applicants denied entry for the three years 2009-2011 will be eligible for guaranteed entry in 2012. Applicants denied entry for the three years 2010-2012 will be eligible for guaranteed entry in 2013. Applicants denied entry for the three years 2011-2013 will not be eligible for guaranteed entry in 2014.

    I’ll be running my first marathon this year and I picked Philadelphia because quite a few members of my running club do it, or go to support.

    • RunnerRitsa says:

      Thanks for the info! I had heard the exact opposite, that 2014 was the last year and people denied in 2011,2012, and 2013 were guaranteed in 2014 but that was the last set of years guaranteed. I guess I’ll have to contact the NYRR. Thanks for bringing that to my attention!

    • runninginnj says:

      I hope you’re right and you do get guaranteed entry – perhaps they changed things after the cancellation last year… there doesn’t appear to be anything (at least that’s easy to find) on their own website about it. You may be right as there seem to be quite a few people under that assumption.

    • I think she’s right Rits. CRAP!

  2. senelslant says:

    Glad to hear about you pushing yourself to new heights! I hope you do decide to pursue a marathon. If you want a fun recommendation, the Smuttynose Rockfest in Hampton, NH is a blast.

    Here are a couple highlights:
    1) VERY flat course
    2) Beautiful views of the coast
    3) Free Lobster Roll
    4) Free Chowder
    5) FREE BEER!

    I believe my work here is done…http://www.hamptonrockfest.com/

    Keep up the great work and hope to see you at Smuttynose!

  3. Sorry to hear you didn’t make NYC! Check out the Space Coast Marathon down in Cocoa Beach, Florida, this December. My hopes are to make my 1st half-marathon appearance there, it is my home town and organized by my cousins. http://www.spacecoastmarathon.com/

  4. Anna says:

    Sorry to hear about NYC 😦 . BUT I vote for the Richmond Marathon! I am already signed up to run it this year! It will be my first time but I have heard great things about it and Richmond is a great city!

  5. Sorry to hear about NYC! I’m running Chicago and I believe you can still get in if you run with a charity. I’m running with the Lurie Children’s Hospital foundation, which is a GREAT cause, if you’re interested. Let me know if you need more details 🙂

  6. Kara says:

    Boo, I’m sorry! I second what Jen said, you can run with with a charity for sure!

    But otherwise…Wineglass! I’m going to run the half…it will be a really fun weekend!

Leave a Comment

