CrossFit, Marathon Training, running

Marathon Dilemma

$3C7B4C0E58D5B236

This happened last week. I transferred from the Richmond Marathon to the half marathon. I am just not where I want and need to be with my training and to tell you the truth, my heart really isn’t in it anymore. With all the injuries I have faced over the last year, I am starting to think that the marathon is not the race for me. It’s a sign. Maybe my body is telling me to focus on something else?

IMG_4991

CrossFit maybe? I say yes. I have decided to focus more on CrossFit and less on running. GASP. I know. No, I won’t stop running. Now that I am injury free (let’s see how long this lasts) I enjoy running again but not to the extent I was running last year to train for the Philadelphia Marathon. My weekly mileage has been rather pathetic for a half marathoner, let alone a marathoner. I haven’t even broken 10 miles in I don’t know how long. But I am ok with it. Last week I completed 3 runs (speed work, tempo, race) as well as shorter intervals during CrossFit workouts. This week, I hope to do the same, as well as, CrossFit 4-5 times a week. CrossFit has definitely kept my endurance up to par when running wasn’t possible.

Another year my marathon training is cut short and I will switch to the half marathon. I am not sad, though. This is just not my year, again. Maybe one day I will run a marathon but today, I am OK with not running one.

4 thoughts on “Marathon Dilemma”

  1. I’m going through similar struggles right now. A part of me feels guilty for not loving running as much as I used to, but I love lifting and I think it’s fine to give that a shot for a while.

Leave a Comment

