Work trip to Charleston, SC

This past week I was in Charleston, South Carolina for work. I flew down from Baltimore Monday afternoon and stayed until Friday morning. I was lucky to have plenty of time to check out the town and some of the historic areas.

Monday afternoon I landed at Charleston Airport and checked into my hotel in North Charleston. I hadn’t eaten lunch so I drove downtown (in my swanky Ford Fusion) to find a place to eat. Caviar and Bananas was high on Yelp ratings so I stopped in there. It is right by the College of Charleston campus so there were tons of students around. This made me miss my college years like whoa. Unfortunately, I did not have a cool campus like this where everything is within walking distance.

Caviar and Bananas is an upscale market that has a sandwich station, sushi, salads, and prepared foods. I decided to go with the Lobster Cobb Salad and a chocolate covered macaroon.

IMG_5685

I headed back to the hotel for a quick meeting and then went out to dinner with a bunch of my coworkers. After dinner we got caught in torrential downpour and were soaked. We were not in luck with the thunderstorms and rain this week in Charleston. In rained almost every night due to the humidity!

Tuesday we were in meetings until about 3. I wanted to go for a run while I was down there so I headed over to Charles Town Landing which is a historic park and the first English settlement in Carolina in the 1600s. There was a zoo, replicas of the ship the pilgrims traveled on, and gardens to run through. It was a total of about 3 miles.

IMG_5687 IMG_5688 IMG_5694 IMG_5699 IMG_5714 IMG_5719

Afterwards I did a quick hotel gym WOD and then got ready for dinner. I made reservations at Fleet Landing for my group. The place was awesome! It is housed in a retired Navy building.

IMG_5720 IMG_5724

I ordered the lump crab bruschetta and scallops appetizers as my entree.IMG_5727 IMG_5728

Wednesday was another day of meetings. After we got out (around 4), I headed to a local CrossFit box, Iron Bridge CrossFit,  to get a workout in before dinner. Wednesday began restaurant week in Charleston and I was ecstatic. I LOVE restaurant week. We drove to downtown Charleston and ate at a wine bar that a friend had suggested called Social. The restaurant week menu was split up between french, greek, and spanish cuisine. I chose the Greek (shocker!). Fried calamari to start, lamb for my entree, and a honey and milk cake with phyllo dough for dessert. It was delicious!

IMG_5740IMG_5737 IMG_5738 IMG_5739Thursday was a free day! We ended the weekly meeting early on Wednesday so Thursday was a sightseeing day. Shane (fellow coworker) and I walked around Charleston to include the Battery (park/walkway by the water), the beautiful homes, Charleston Market, and the Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge.

IMG_5746 IMG_5749 IMG_5751 IMG_5754 IMG_5760 IMG_5761 IMG_5765

After our sightseeing tour, I headed back to Iron Bridge CrossFit for another quick workout sesh. Afterwards, I headed back downtown (do you sense a trend here?) but by myself this time. Everyone else had already flown back home. I stopped in at The Macintosh (great review and recommended by a friend) for restaurant week at the bar. I started with the Grilled peach salad with pork belly. My entree was an amazing snapper with lentils and tomatoes, and I ended with the Chocolate pot de creme.

IMG_5771 IMG_5772 IMG_5773

Friday morning, I got up early to run the beautiful Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge, which is the third longest cable-stayed bridge in the western hemisphere. It also helped that Friday was a gorgeous day! After my run, I waved a sad good bye to Charleston and headed back to Baltimore.

IMG_5774 IMG_5782

Let’s chat! Have you ever been to Charleston? What is your favorite part about this beautiful city? I can’t wait to go back!

This entry was posted in CrossFit, Eats, Fun, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

