CrossFit, Eats, Recipes

Paleo Coconut Flour Pancakes

Last Monday, I started (along with 24 other people at my CrossFit affiliate) the Lurong Living Paleo Challenge. This is an 8 week nutrition and exercise challenge. Over 8 weeks, CrossFit affiliates all over participate in 8 WODs that have been selected by Lurong Living. (Check out the results of the WODs in my Weekly Workouts.)WODs 1, 2, and 3 have to be completed in the first 2 weeks of the challenge. WODs 6, 7, and 8 are repeats of 1, 2, and 3 but in the last 2 weeks of the challenge in order for us to see how we have progressed and improved during the challenge.

We also have to keep a daily log (on the Lurong website) of whether they cheated or ate clean. Eating clean during this challenge means no grains (wheat, quinoa, rice, etc), dairy (all cheese, milk except for coconut or almond milk, yogurt, etc), legumes (all beans), and refined carbs and sugars.

THIS IS HARD. Especially for a cupcake lover like me. I have “cheated” a few times but not as much as I thought I would. I have experimented with “paleo” recipes and they are actually really good!!

Today, I adapted a recipe from Nourishing Days and made Paleo Coconut Flour Pancakes. This is the first time I have ever used coconut flour and it definitely works when baking sweet items.

Attachment-1

One note: When mixing the batter, add water (or more almond milk) to make it the right consistency. I added water because it was too thick at first (trial and error, peeps!).

Also, I added bananas and pure maple syrup but you can top with any fruit, almond butter, or your choice!

photo 2(69)

These ended up being very fluffy! Mine were a little bit on the dry side so I would recommend adding more almond milk when finding the right consistency instead of water, like I did.

photo 3(57)photo(10)

So fluffy! A very delicious Paleo option for those that enjoy eating Paleo or those (like me) who are participating in a challenge and need options.

Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Paleo Coconut Flour Pancakes”

  1. I tried a paleo challenge a year ago and cheated a bunch and modified it in the end. My box is having a paleo challenge in a few weeks and I’m thinking about trying. It helps me focus on eating and hopefully slim down after gaining weight marathon training and before the holidays! Keep the recipes and tips coming!

    1. Im glad your liked the recipe! I am having a little trouble when it comes to craving sweets (I have a HUGE sweet tooth) and I am also craving things that I don’t usually crave…. probably because I can’t have them. All I want is a huge bowl of pasta. :/

Leave a Comment

