CrossFit, Eats

A Day In The Life: What NOT to eat during a Paleo Challenge

How is the Paleo Challenge going, you ask? I can describe it in two words. I. SUCK. Seriously. I think I am eating worse during this challenge than before I was trying to eat paleo. I crave things I don’t usually crave (cough Little Debbie Swiss Cake Rolls cough) and since I do not have self control when it comes to sweets, I eat EVERYTHING. Yesterday, may have been my worst day so far (besides last Saturday when I was hungover and ate bagels and chocolate cake). I decided to just try to go back to eating the way I used to; counting calories and making healthy eating choices.

Well, that backfired. Below is the menu a la Ritsa circa yesterday.

Breakfast:

Juice/Smoothie (spinach, pineapple, strawberries, grapes, kiwi, and banana).. so far so good

Lunch:

Paleo Custom Fit Meal of Triple B Burger… still going strong.
Slice of Bertucci’s margarita pizza… first FAIL.

Snacks:

Whole grain bagel with butter and jelly… going downhill.
Stacy’s Pita Chips with hummus.. double FAIL.
Graze Summer Pudding (dried berries, sponge pieces, yogurt seeds)… UGH

Post Workout:

Piece of Cake with frosting.. Seriously, I finished the CrossFit WOD, walked over to the fridge for a bottle of water, and grabbed a leftover piece of cake instead. REALLY??

Dinner:

2 1/2 pieces of pizza
French fries with ketchup.. no words.

Dessert:

Swiss Cake Rolls.. these are so amazing, I have no regrets.

So, there you have it. What NOT to eat during a Paleo Challenge… or during any day of real life EVER if you don’t want to end up in a diabetic coma.

8 thoughts on “A Day In The Life: What NOT to eat during a Paleo Challenge”

  1. Haha my box is starting a paleo challenge later in October. I might unofficially try to follow it because I know officially trying to restrict might have me in your place-eating swiss roll cakes. Which are delicious, btw. When you count calories, do you eat back what you burn?

    1. When I say i count calories, I make sure to track everything in myfitnesspal. I put a daily limit on calories that takes exercise into account. I try to eat around 1600 calories and workout.

  2. HAHA! I love your honesty. I read a lot of blogs about dieting and diets and everyone seems so happy on their cracker and water diet. I’ve been debating trying the paleo challenge. Your honesty has inspired me. It’s not that bad when you have a fail day, just make sure you do better the next day. Thanks!!

    1. Thanks! I’m glad you liked my post. I really have been sucking at this challenge…. I thought paying $50 and doing it with other people would help me eat a little better but its actually making me eat worse! Let me know if you sign up for your challenge and how you do!!

  3. those swiss cake rolls are amazing you absolutely should not regret those! yum. and french fries doused in ketchup are my kryptonite. i love them so much haha.

Leave a Comment

