Speed Work (plus Giveaway winner)

As I have mentioned previously, I am trying to run more seeing as if I have a half marathon scheduled for the end of the month that I wanted to PR. My goal has changed slightly since I haven’t been running much and I hope to just be within a few minutes of my PR and honestly, I don’t think I will PR. My PR is on this course, a very flat and fast course, at 1:44:12 which I got last year. I am hoping to be in the 1:45-1:47 range this year but we shall see because we know unknown factors can always show up on race day.

Although my weekly mileage is rather low (ugghhh 10 miles if I am lucky), my speed work has been on point. If I could do speed work every day, I would. I HATE HATE HATE tempos and lately have not had the time or energy to start (let alone finish) a long run. I am hoping the speed work pays off when I am running a longer distance at a slower pace and maybe I will PR (wishful thinking)!

Anyway, last night I did an awful but great speed workout at CrossFit. And by “at CrossFit” I mean I did the scheduled WOD then ran sprints around the perimeter of the industrial park we are located in. I wanted to quit by the 3rd interval but I trucked on! Its a lung burner but it’s a goodie.

speedworkladderAnd now onto the winner of the Reebok Spartan Race entry. The lucky winner is:

spartanwinnerSeth, please email me to claim your entry at ritsa(dot)karakanas(at)gmail(dot)com!

For all others, don’t forget the 15% discount code to any Spartan Race in the US!

Who else likes speed work as much as me? Share your workouts!

This entry was posted in Cardio Workouts, running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Speed Work (plus Giveaway winner)

  1. Seth says:

    Thanks so much, Ritsa! I emailed you.

Leave a Comment

