Life, running

Run for Boston (Bel Air)

Monday night my roommate Jen and I participated in the #BostonStrong Run for Boston in our town with our local running store, Charm City Run. Charm City Run is a local MD running store with 5 stores around the Baltimore metro area. After last week’s events, it was the least we could do.

The turn out was incredible! Kids, strollers, and puppies were among all the adults ready to run together as a team to support Boston and our country. The email stated we would run 3-4 miles on a nearby trail so I decided to get in a quick 3 mile tempo by running from my house to the store. Jen would meet me and we would run together and then she would drive me home. I ran 3.28 at about an 8 minute/mile pace and got to the store right in time. Jen and I ran at a very leisurely rate making sure we watched for strollers and parking meters.

The run took us through downtown Bel Air and onto the Ma & Pa trail. At mile 2 I was wondering where the turnaround was. We found it at mile 2.63. They lied! But we all know I welcomed the longer distance and so did Jen. It was her longest distance since coming back from a Sciatica injury. Go Jen!! We ended up running 5.25 miles and my total mileage for the night was 8.53 miles.

391008_10100903017916920_857970163_n
post run glow with the roomie

Being around this big group for the same reason was an amazing feeling. No we weren’t training for a marathon or running a race. We were running as friends after a tragedy at the Boston Marathon forced us all to come together. My heart goes out to Boston and the families of the victims. Stay strong Boston!

mail.google.com

5 thoughts on “Run for Boston (Bel Air)”

  1. Aw this sounds like so much fun! One of these days we’ll run together. One day. I wanted to go to that except it fell during practice. Lame.

    1. Booo to practice. Your practice should have been the run! Except for the fact that we struggled to get around strollers, parking meters, etc. I couldnt really considerate this a training run because my pace didnt fall under 9 min/mile. We will run together soon! I ran in Locust Point on Saturday for the Sole of the City 10k. Where were you!?

    2. Running the mile, 800, and 400 at my meet 😦 this is my last weekend of track though! Then I’ll have a life and we can run!!

  2. Looks like a very successful and meaningful event. I did one too here in our city (recap on my blog). It was emotional at first when we were trying to remember the events during the marathon bombing. But after the run, I felt a sense of community. Felt happy to be out there. 🙂
    Happy Running!

  3. We are a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community.
    Your web site provided us with useful information to work
    on. You have done a formidable task and our entire group shall be thankful to you.

Leave a Comment